Cinéfest announces award winners

By: Sudbury Northern Life Staff

 | Sep 28, 2010 - 4:13 PM |

With the 22nd edition of Cinéfest wrapped up, winners of various film awards have been announced.

Oliver Sherman, written and directed by Ryan Redford, was awarded the Carolyn Fouriezos Best Canadian First Feature Award from the National Film Board of Canada, and Force of Nature: The David Suzuki Movie, directed by Sturla Gunnarsson, won the Cinéfest Sudbury Kinodoc Award.

Winners in the CTV Best in Shorts competition include:

First place, open category: Bedtime Stories by Ben Brumueller
Second place, open category: Freshwater Plague by Jake Chirico
Third place, open category: The Appointment by Katrina Saville
First place, student category: Singing in the Brain by J.P. Bouchardt
Northern Flicks Award: Never Been Kissed by Gina Simon
Best Animation Award: Bedtime Stories by Ben Brumueller
CTV Best Script Award: The Appointment by Katrina Saville

Awards of merit where also given to Unbeaten by Sindy Granberg-Shawbonquit, Connect the Creek by Christian Elliot and Cotter Pin by Erik Harju.

For more information about Cinéfest, phone 705-688-1234 or visit www.cinefest.com.  

Like what you're reading? Click here to make us your homepage today!

Reader's Feedback

NorthernLife.ca may contain content submitted by readers, usually in the form of article comments. All reader comments and any opinions, advice, statements or other information contained in any messages posted or transmitted by any third party are the responsibility of the author of that message and not of NorthernLife.ca. The fact that a particular message is posted on or transmitted using this web site does not mean that NorthernLife.ca has endorsed that message in any way or verified the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message. We encourage visitors to NorthernLife.ca to report any objectionable content by clicking the "X" on the top right of the comment in question. Comment Guidelines

Local Business Directory